Assessed provider certificate · Initial career training
Professional Makeup Artist Certification
Southwest Makeup Institute · Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
- Award
- Professional Makeup Artist Certification
- Audience & level
- Adults
- Format
- In person12 weeks
- Price
- Not published
About this program
A 12-week professional makeup artist certification covering sanitation, application technique, kit, colour theory, special-effects makeup and the business of makeup, with mandatory shadowing hours.
- Offering
- Short course
- Fields
- Makeup Artistry
- Advertised approaches
- Sanitation, application technique, colour theory, sfx makeupAs advertised by the provider; this does not imply affiliation with any practitioner’s organisation.
- Purpose
- Initial career training
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Assessed provider certificate
- Exact award
- Professional Makeup Artist Certification
- Award status
- Provider-issued awardIssued by the school or academy itself. It is not an academic degree or a licence; check separately whether any authority recognises it.
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Stated by the schoolNew Mexico Higher Education DepartmentSchool authorization
Scope not stated in the source.
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- 12 weeks
- Delivery
- In personTaught at the listed teaching location.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Not published
- Directory length band
- Short-term (under six months)Short-term means under six calendar months and long-term means six months or longer. These are browsing labels used by this directory, not official qualification levels.
- Teaching location
- Southwest Makeup Institute6821 Montgomery Boulevard Northeast, Suite E
Who it is for and entry requirements
Entry requirements not published
The pages we checked do not describe entry requirements. Missing information does not mean open enrollment; ask the provider.
Current enrollment availability is not confirmed here; check dates and places with the provider.
Practice, assessment and kit
As published by the provider. Mannequins, simulation, live models and workplace experience are different things and are named separately.
- Practice arrangements
- Workplace experience
- Kit
- Kit inclusion not published
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Tuition, registration, kit, consumables, uniform and assessment charges are listed separately. Each price keeps its basis and is never converted, and an instalment is never the total.
The provider does not publish a price for this offering on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and any deposit or refund terms.
Career support
As described by the provider. It is not a guarantee of work, income or placement.
Provider states that the 12-week certification offers 15 days toward IATSE Local 480 film union membership and includes mandatory shadowing with industry partners.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: price, entry requirements, kit inclusion, schedule, experience level.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)